French Onion Soup

My first cartouche…who knew something so simple would be so helpful & effective.  In future I will read the instruction properly though and crumple before putting it under the tap but easily rectified!

I’d often heard homemade French Onion soup is very different to bought / manufactured which it did turn out to be but I was pleased the result.  I made this quite late in the evening so I chilled approximately two portions in a kilner jar in the fridge.

On reflection maybe the onions needed a little more carmelisation before adding the stock.  I had left it an hour and they were beginning to turn slightly brown but perhaps a few more minutes would have created a deeper taste.  I was pre-occupied with not burning the onions at the bottom!

Side note – I did change the stock from the vegetable in the first picture to chicken.  It may also have helped if I used liquid stock rather than cubes but that will have to wait to later weeks..

Leave a Reply

